2022 Awards, Scholarships, and Fellowships Application Cycle is Open

Electronic applications are due through the FAHE website by deadlines below

The Foundation for the Advancement of Health Education (FAHE) application cycle for awards, scholarships, and fellowships is open. Criteria for each opportunity are listed on application pages that can be accessed at www.fahefoundation.org. All applicants are evaluated on the caliber of their submitted documents.

Awards, scholarships, and fellowships are presented at the annual conference of the Society for Public Health Education (SOPHE). Recipients are encouraged to attend the conference, though they are not required to do so to accept their award, scholarship, or fellowship.

For Undergraduate Students (deadline November 8, 2021)

Dr. Becky J. Smith Scholarship (undergraduate students; $1000 scholarship presented annually)

For Graduate Students (deadline November 8, 2021)

Dr. Mary K. Beyrer Graduate Student Scholarship (master’s degree or doctoral level students; $1000 scholarship presented annually)

Dr. Delbert Oberteuffer Scholarship (doctoral students; $1500 scholarship presented annually)

Dr. Marion B. Pollock Fellowship (to a teacher for master’s study; $3000 fellowship presented annually)

For Authors (deadline November 8, 2021)

Dr. Ann E. Nolte Writing Award ($1000 award presented annually)

NEW For Practitioners (deadline November 8, 2021)

Dr. Robert R. Blackburn Advocacy, Policy, and Systems Efforts Advancing Health Education and Promotion Award ($1000 award presented annually)

Congratulations to the 2021 Scholarship and Award Winners!

Dr. Becky J. Smith Scholarship (undergraduate students)

Kaitlynn McIntyre, Ball State University

Dr. Mary K. Beyrer Graduate Student Scholarship (Master’s degree or doctoral level students)

Milkie Vu, Emory University

Dr. Delbert Oberteuffer Scholarship (doctoral students)

Skylar Love, Texas A&M University

Milkie Vu, Emory University

Dr. Marion B. Pollock Fellowship (to a teacher for Master’s study)

Not awarded in 2020

Dr. Ann E. Nolte Writing Award

“Effects of COVID-19 Pandemic on the Professional Roles and Responsibilities of Health Educators” 

Heidi L. Hancher-Rauch, PhD, CHES®, University of Indianapolis

Charity Bishop, MA, CHES®, Indiana University

Alli Campbell Nelson, BS, CHES®, University of Indianapolis 

Kara Cecil, PhD, MPH, University of Indianapolis 

Lisa Yazel, EdD, MCHES®, IUPUI 

Published in the American Journal of Health Promotion, 2018, 32 (8). Dr. Paul Terry, Editor