Previous Award Winners

Dr. Becky J. Smith Scholarship Recipients

2021: Alyssa Theroux, University of Central Arkansas
2020: Kaitlynn McIntyre, Ball State University
2019: Destiny Hayes, University of North Carolina, Greensboro
2018: Caitlin Kahney, Texas A&M University

Dr. Mary K. Beyrer Graduate Student Scholarship Recipients

2021: Mx Isaiah Niles Zoschke, University of Texas
2020: Milkie Vu, Emory University
2019: Shemeka Thorpe, University of North Carolina, Greensboro
2018: Christi Esquivel, MED, CHES, Texas A&M University

Dr. Delbert Oberteuffer Scholarship Recipients

2021: Elizabeth Obekpa, University of Texas Health Science Center
2020: Skylar Love, Texas A&M University
2019: Vilkie Vu, Emory University
2018: Christi Esquivel, MED, CHES, Texas A&M University
2017: Eric Conrad, MA CHES, The University of Alabama
2016: Ryan G. Irbe, PHD, Indiana University Bloomington
2013: Hannah Priest, University of Alabama
2012: None awarded
2011: Brittany Rosen, Texas A&M University
2010: Theresa C. Brown, University of Kansas and Darson L. Rhodes, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
2009: Lindsay A. Taliaferro, Florida
2008: Rebecca Vidourek, Ohio
2007: Fredanna A.D. M’Cormack, Illinois
2006: Melissa C. Morris, Florida
2005: None awarded
2004: Randi Jean Alter, Indiana
2003: None awarded
2002: None awarded
2001 Donna J. Bernert, Illinois
2000: Kathleen J. Young, New Mexico
1999: Denise M. Seabert

Dr. Marion B. Pollock Fellowship Recipients

2021: None awarded
2020: None awarded
2019: None awarded
2018: None awarded
2017: Clayborne Cook, BSED, The University of Pittsburgh
2012: None awarded
2011: None awarded
2010: Kelly Heil, University of Toledo
2009: None awarded
2008: None awarded
2007: Mariah Beal, North Carolina
2006: None awarded
2005: None awarded
2004: Tunisia Amin Hargrave, Georgia
2003: Laura Dibble LeVasseur, Massachusetts

Dr. Robert Blackburn Award

2021: Tina Tamai: President of the Hawai’i Good Food Alliance Board of Directors and a Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Culture of Health Leader

Previous Ann E. Nolte Writing Award Recipients

2022: Tyler G. James, PhD, CHES , Meagan K. Sullivan, MPH, CPH, Heather Henderson, EdD, and Julia R. Varnes, PhD, MPH, MCHES for the article “Competency Focused Versus Philosophically Grounded Health Promotion Practice: Impacts on Innovation and Addressing Health Inequities” published  in Pedagogy in Health Promotion: The Scholarship of Teaching and Learning, (2022). 

2021: Alyssa M. Lederer, Mary T. Hoban, Sarah K. Lipson, Sasha Zhou, Daniel Eisenberg, for the article, More than Inconvenienced: The Unique Needs of U.S. College Students During the COVID-19 Pandemic. The article was published in Health Education & Behavior, 48(1), 14-19.

2020:  Heidi L. Hancher-Rauch, PhD, CHES; Charity Bishop, MA, CHES; Alli Campbell, BS, CHES; Kara Cecil, PhD, MPH; and Lisa Yazel, EdD, MCHES, for the article, Effects of COVID-19 Pandemic on the Professional Roles and Responsibilities of Health Educators published in the journal, Health Promotion Practice, 2020. 

2019: Brita Roy, MD, MPH, MHS , Carley Riley, MD, MPP, MHS, Lindsay Sears, PhD , and Elizabeth Y. Rula, PhD, for the article, Collective Well-Being to Improve Population Health Outcomes: An Actionable Conceptual Model and Review of the Literature in the American Journal of Health Promotion, 2018, 32 (8).

2018: Dr. David A. Broniatowski and co-authors Jamison, A.M., Qi, S., AlKulaib, L., Chen, T., Benton, A., Quinn S.C., & Dredze, M. for the article, Weaponized Health Communication: Twitter Bots and Russian Trolls Amplify the Vaccine Debate in the American Journal of Public Health, 2018, 108 (10).

2017: Dr. Lawrence W. Green for the article, How Research Influences Policy: The Evidence We Need to ‘Speak Truth to Power’ – A Reflection on an AAHE Scholar Address Three Decades On, in the American Journal of Health Education, 2017, 48(3)

2016:  Dr. Leslie Gail McBride and Dr. Amar Shireesh Kanekar for the article, The Scholarship of Teaching and Learning: Origin, Development, and Implications, in the journal, Pedagogy in Health Promotion, 2015, 1(1). 

2015:  Dr. Diane Allensworth for the book chapter, Historical Overview of Coordinated School Health in the book, Promoting Health and Academic Success: The Whole School, Whole Community, Whole Child Approach (2015).