E. Lisako Jones-McKyer PhD, MCHES® » Board of Directors

E. Lisako Jones-McKyer, PhD, MCHES®

Photo of E. Lisako Jones-McKyer PhD, MCHES®

Biographical Info

E. Lisako J. McKyer, Ph.D., MPH is the Senior Associate Dean for Climate & Diversity, and a Full Professor in the Department of Health Promotion & Community Health Sciences in the School of Public Health, at Texas A&M University.  She holds joint a appointment in the College of Medicine.  She earned her BA in psychology from California State University, Northridge where she was awarded a NIH-funded research fellowship.  She matriculated in the clinical science (child/pediatric psychology) doctoral program at Indiana University, with cognates in developmental psychology and public health where she received another NIH (NIDDK) training grant. She earned the MPH in Community Health Education and Ph.D. in Health Behavior from Indiana University as a mentee of Dr. Mohammad R. Torabi.  Dr. McKyer joined Eta Sigma Gamma’s Nu Chapter (Indiana University) as a lifetime member.

Dr. McKyer’s research foci include: 1) social-ecological determinants of health inequities and minority health issues, and 2) health education research methods (measurement and data analytical strategies). Her pedagogical interests are in child health issues, as well as cultural competency training and development.  Dr. McKyer’s service activities include serving on the Editorial Board of the American Journal of Health Education, as Associate Editor for Health Behavior and Policy Review, as Review Editorial Board Member for Frontiers in Public Health: Public Health Education & Promotion, and on the Review Board for the American Journal of Health Behavior.  She has published 75+ articles in peer-reviewed journals, 100+ peer-reviewed presentations, 4 book chapters, and served as Section Editor of Early Childhood and Childhood volumes of the Encyclopedia of Primary Prevention (2nd Ed due 2015.).  Dr.  McKyer’s dedication to student development is reflected in several ways. She was named “Faculty of the Year” by ESG Alpha Pi Chapter (Texas A&M University) for an unprecedented two consecutive years (2009, 2010).   In 2014, we received the Texas A&M University-Level Distinguished Achievement Award for Graduate Mentoring.

Categories: Board of Directors

Emeritus Board Members